Commie Two's spine crunches with a horrible succession of snaps. Earth Elemental/Druid steps toward Marx, provoking an attack of opportunity from Commie Three. The Earth Elemental's "Earth Glide" ability prevents the Earth Elemental from the worst of the stream's movement effects.
Marx utters an ineffable curse and the body of Commie Two, somewhat diminished by the thrashing of the Earth Elemental, starts to animate below the surface of the stream.
Maybe you will wash downstream so I don't have to make any more Athletics checks to get to you. On the plus side, the +1d4 points for saves from my bless spell does apply to death saving throws.
Charn "swats" at the commiezombie the same way that Hank Aaron "swats" at baseballs. Just like a baseball, the commiezombie's head goes flying. The main corpus collapses like most communist economies do - randomly thrashing about and getting blood everywhere.
As Charn crit on the attack, the zombie doesn't benefit from its Undead Fortitude. It simply perishes.
Perhaps it was the unfortunate death of the commiezombie that paralyzed Commie One's economy of movement, but he just can't make it all the way to Charn. He is now in square J4.
Able may roll to bleed out. He gets to take no other action this turn, but if he rolls a 20 he stabilizes at 1 HP and is cognizant.
Caleb goes after Able. He may want to see how Able's stabilization goes before he takes his turn.
Death Saving Throws Whenever you start your turn with 0 hit points, you must make a Special saving throw, called a death saving throw, to determine whether you creep closer to death or hang onto life. Unlike other saving throws, this one isn’t tied to any ability score. You are in the hands of fate now, aided only by Spells and features that improve your chances of succeeding on a saving throw.
Roll a d20: If the roll is 10 or higher, you succeed. Otherwise, you fail. A success or failure has no effect by itself. On your third success, you become stable (see below). On your third failure, you die. The successes and failures don’t need to be consecutive; keep track of both until you collect three of a kind. The number of both is reset to zero when you regain any hit points or become stable.
Able's 10 is a success, so he's at 1 success and 0 failures.
Is Commie 2 still acting after Able or is he one of the ones that died already? I would prefer to wait until seeing how his turn plays out before declaring an action.
Ah ok, I kind of figured that was the one but couldn't remember. Sorry, I had a sick kiddo to look after all day and I'm a little unravelled right now.
Assuming Caleb was able to advance north with a successful Athletics check, is stabilizing a dying character with a Medicine check something that might provoke an attack of opportunity?
Nope. Attacks of opportunity are, interestingly, only caused by voluntary movement. You can cast spells, make ranged attacks, and even distribute political leaflets without provoking an attack of opportunity. You would, however, be at disadvantage because I imagine performing life saving CPR in a river surrounded by angry communists could be deemed a hindering environmental factor. Consequently, if Caleb moved to Able and tried to stabilize him, Caleb would roll twice and take the lower result.
Fuck, I'm sorry. I think I posted in the wrong forum but never moved it over here. Cronono, did you get my rolls or do I need to roll again? I wanted to roll Athletics to move close enough to stabilize Able then do so with a Medicine check.
If I recall correctly, the athletics check failed and you were at disadvantage for the medicine check. Since that's not on this forum, I'm comfortable with a re-roll or a different action entirely.
Commie Three provokes an attack of opportunity from Able. He is attempting to move North, presumably to flank the Druid with Marx. Does Able take the attack? If Able spends his reaction this way, the attack will be at disadvantage as Able is on his ass in a river.
I think it's important to use the rules whenever possible, doubly so given how simple they are in 5e. His attack roll is 1d20 + STR Mod + Proficiency Bonus. His Strength is a +1. At first level, his proficiency bonus is 2. That means his attack rolls are 17 (14+1+2) and 21 (18+1+2). Because he has disadvantage, that means we pick the 17.
His damage roll would then be either 1d6+1 or 1d8+1. He can't cast Eldritch Blast from a hand that's gripping the spear because he can't make the Somatic component of the cantrip. Consequently, he has the spear in one hand now and is going to roll 1d6+1. This makes sense given that the most recent thing he did was get pounded into the river bed rather than tactically grip his spear.
If you have rules questions, please let me know - even as a new system, this should be relatively easy for the vets we have on here.
Able announces his consciousness from the running water by stabbing up from underneath the communist's guard, inflicting a nasty gash across the Commie's leg for 6 damage.
Commie Three, undeterred by the blood flowing out of his leg and over Able in the stream, moves up to flank the elemental. He then begins to strike at the rocky druid.
The Commie makes the most of his flanking position and knocks a few rocks loose from the druid. The earthen exterior of the druid does not appear to take as much damage as skin and bone would take.
Marx utters another terrible incantation, and the shattered spine of CommieTwo begins to knit itself back together. Commie Two moans with a horrible malevolence as he reanimates as a zombie.
I am travelling at the moment and unable to update the map until Thursday.
Commie Four is exploded.
Commie Three is alive and flanking the Earth Elemental with Marx.
Commie Two is dead and newly animated by Marx.
Commie One is alive and menacing the folks alive in the water.
Marx is alive, probably, and under attack by the druid.
The druid is alive and beset on all sides by the inequities of the working man.
Eryndir is currently on a bluff or beach ridge that gives him an elevated view of the terrain. Consequently, his feet are roughly at the same elevation as head level for most folks in the water (obviously, not the druid/earth elemental). His LOS is unobstructed and he can maintain his firing position.
This is a direct consequence of the number of successes you guys received in the skill challenge.
The Earth Elemental/Druid unleashes a cavernous roar, echoing within itself. It unleashes a slam attack on Commie Two.
Commie Two's spine crunches with a horrible succession of snaps. Earth Elemental/Druid steps toward Marx, provoking an attack of opportunity from Commie Three. The Earth Elemental's "Earth Glide" ability prevents the Earth Elemental from the worst of the stream's movement effects.
I screwed up the formatting, but the Commie was unable to land a hit on the monstrous Earth Elemental/Druid. The rocky beast assaults Marx.
Marx takes a nasty hit but is otherwise fine. Commie Three moves SE to K6 and assaults Able!
Able takes a nasty wound to the gut. Unfortunately for Able, the literal symbol of the Thousandfold Men of Industry is near to his heart. Literally.
Commie Four takes this opportunity to attack Able!
Able is now bleeding out!
Marx utters an ineffable curse and the body of Commie Two, somewhat diminished by the thrashing of the Earth Elemental, starts to animate below the surface of the stream.
It is now Eryndir's turn. I can populate a new map this evening.
Did Charn go this round?
He readied an action to protect you if anyone came nearby. No one did.
Shifting fire to loose an arrow at Marx.
Damage
Good thing I'm hanging with the cleric.
Bad thing I just smacked him around and told him who's his daddy.
Maybe you will wash downstream so I don't have to make any more Athletics checks to get to you. On the plus side, the +1d4 points for saves from my bless spell does apply to death saving throws.
Charn drops his crossbow, draws his sword and shield, and marches up to I6, where he swats at Zombie Commie.
Crit damage?
Charn "swats" at the commiezombie the same way that Hank Aaron "swats" at baseballs. Just like a baseball, the commiezombie's head goes flying. The main corpus collapses like most communist economies do - randomly thrashing about and getting blood everywhere.
As Charn crit on the attack, the zombie doesn't benefit from its Undead Fortitude. It simply perishes.
Commie One moves toward Charn.
Perhaps it was the unfortunate death of the commiezombie that paralyzed Commie One's economy of movement, but he just can't make it all the way to Charn. He is now in square J4.
Able may roll to bleed out. He gets to take no other action this turn, but if he rolls a 20 he stabilizes at 1 HP and is cognizant.
Caleb goes after Able. He may want to see how Able's stabilization goes before he takes his turn.
Stable?
The rules for death saving throws are as follows:
Death Saving Throws
Whenever you start your turn with 0 hit points, you must make a Special saving throw, called a death saving throw, to determine whether you creep closer to death or hang onto life. Unlike other saving throws, this one isn’t tied to any ability score. You are in the hands of fate now, aided only by Spells and features that improve your chances of succeeding on a saving throw.
Roll a d20: If the roll is 10 or higher, you succeed. Otherwise, you fail. A success or failure has no effect by itself. On your third success, you become stable (see below). On your third failure, you die. The successes and failures don’t need to be consecutive; keep track of both until you collect three of a kind. The number of both is reset to zero when you regain any hit points or become stable.
Able's 10 is a success, so he's at 1 success and 0 failures.
Is Commie 2 still acting after Able or is he one of the ones that died already? I would prefer to wait until seeing how his turn plays out before declaring an action.
Commie 2 was crushed by the Earth Elemental/Druid. His spine is currently visible and in multiple pieces.
Ah ok, I kind of figured that was the one but couldn't remember. Sorry, I had a sick kiddo to look after all day and I'm a little unravelled right now.
Assuming Caleb was able to advance north with a successful Athletics check, is stabilizing a dying character with a Medicine check something that might provoke an attack of opportunity?
Nope. Attacks of opportunity are, interestingly, only caused by voluntary movement. You can cast spells, make ranged attacks, and even distribute political leaflets without provoking an attack of opportunity. You would, however, be at disadvantage because I imagine performing life saving CPR in a river surrounded by angry communists could be deemed a hindering environmental factor. Consequently, if Caleb moved to Able and tried to stabilize him, Caleb would roll twice and take the lower result.
(Just bumping this thread. I hope all is well with the sick kiddo! I've got a five-week old now, and I'm dreading the first time she gets sick.)
Fuck, I'm sorry. I think I posted in the wrong forum but never moved it over here. Cronono, did you get my rolls or do I need to roll again? I wanted to roll Athletics to move close enough to stabilize Able then do so with a Medicine check.
If I recall correctly, the athletics check failed and you were at disadvantage for the medicine check. Since that's not on this forum, I'm comfortable with a re-roll or a different action entirely.
Oh ok. No, it's still what I want to do. Rolling now.
Boom. Stabilized.
The druid/earth elemental stomps his foot on the ground, sending a surge of healing energy throughout the PCs in the river.
Caleb and Able each gain 8 HP back.
They also both gain 5 temp HP.
Commie Three provokes an attack of opportunity from Able. He is attempting to move North, presumably to flank the Druid with Marx. Does Able take the attack? If Able spends his reaction this way, the attack will be at disadvantage as Able is on his ass in a river.
Sure.
What weapon is Able using?
He uses a spear. I was out and about, so that's probably 1d8? And he has a +1 Str modifier.
A spear is 1d6, and is 1d8 if used two handed.
I think it's important to use the rules whenever possible, doubly so given how simple they are in 5e. His attack roll is 1d20 + STR Mod + Proficiency Bonus. His Strength is a +1. At first level, his proficiency bonus is 2. That means his attack rolls are 17 (14+1+2) and 21 (18+1+2). Because he has disadvantage, that means we pick the 17.
His damage roll would then be either 1d6+1 or 1d8+1. He can't cast Eldritch Blast from a hand that's gripping the spear because he can't make the Somatic component of the cantrip. Consequently, he has the spear in one hand now and is going to roll 1d6+1. This makes sense given that the most recent thing he did was get pounded into the river bed rather than tactically grip his spear.
If you have rules questions, please let me know - even as a new system, this should be relatively easy for the vets we have on here.
Able announces his consciousness from the running water by stabbing up from underneath the communist's guard, inflicting a nasty gash across the Commie's leg for 6 damage.
Commie Three, undeterred by the blood flowing out of his leg and over Able in the stream, moves up to flank the elemental. He then begins to strike at the rocky druid.
The Commie makes the most of his flanking position and knocks a few rocks loose from the druid. The earthen exterior of the druid does not appear to take as much damage as skin and bone would take.
Marx utters another terrible incantation, and the shattered spine of CommieTwo begins to knit itself back together. Commie Two moans with a horrible malevolence as he reanimates as a zombie.
It is now Eryndir's turn.
I am travelling at the moment and unable to update the map until Thursday.
Commie Four is exploded.
Commie Three is alive and flanking the Earth Elemental with Marx.
Commie Two is dead and newly animated by Marx.
Commie One is alive and menacing the folks alive in the water.
Marx is alive, probably, and under attack by the druid.
The druid is alive and beset on all sides by the inequities of the working man.
Does Eryndir still have a clear shot at Marx? Or has Commie Three's movement impeded his line of sight?
Eryndir is currently on a bluff or beach ridge that gives him an elevated view of the terrain. Consequently, his feet are roughly at the same elevation as head level for most folks in the water (obviously, not the druid/earth elemental). His LOS is unobstructed and he can maintain his firing position.
This is a direct consequence of the number of successes you guys received in the skill challenge.
Firing another arrow at Marx. (Also assuming that the high ground gives him advantage, as it did in previous rounds.)
Assuming the 18 hits, per previous rounds.
Charn moves two squares south to flank with Caleb if his Athletics check is successful and slashes at Commie One!
Amazing. It looks like Charn will go one square farther than intended, but will still flank with Able.
Awesome!
Forgive the delay, I was out travelling. Action will resume today.
Trigger is correct, Charn still flanks, gets advantage, hits, and damages Commie One hard enough to bloody him.
We are borrowing the bloodied mechanic from 4e. Effectively, if a character is below half hit points, that is obvious and requires no check.
Commie One, not liking this whole "being flanked" thing, lashes out at Charn.
Apparently, Commie One doesn't like Charn enough to crit on him!
Seven damage to Charn, which I believe bloodies him.
Able's turn.
Pages