Just to be clear, Armund's spell is going to take a full round to cast. He may wish to hold off on ordering Sally to the attack until his action in Round 3, at which time his summoned creature will be available.
Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold
Y'know, that's exactly what I thought. The line in the SRD about "acts immediately on your turn" got me questioning that and I just went with it.
I believe that language is meant to emphasize that a one round casting time does not make it so that the summoned critter loses an action upon being delivered to the battlefield.
I think it's most pertinent when you look at summoning spells in a context where the caster uses a move action, begins casting, and then finishes up as a standard action in the next round, in which case I can see how a DM might be confused about whether the summoned creature can still act.
"Right-o," mutters Leland, and he drops his club as he casts a spell. Suddenly a beam of light extends from his hand, and he moves over toward just west of Serry. "Stay with Horace," he commands Raksha. (I *think* that's about as far south as he can get this time.)
Leland's maximum southern movement is one square south of Swarbrick's horse (the Large Blue #7).
What spell is this?
I mistakenly forgot about Leland's hide armor. He can get as far south as the first square immediately west of the large Blue #7
White 6 vs. Vandersrike
#3 vs. Kisasi
AoO, Kisasi vs. #5
Close, but no cigar.
#5 vs. Kisasi
If the 1d20+2 result was an attack roll, I think Vandersrike did get hit.
The 1d20+2 was a grapple check I made on Vandersrike's behalf in order to speed up play. It ended up being a garbage roll because that first 1d20+4 was a miss.
Kaarys is gonna start slowly working his way to the front. First he wants to try to tell Serry to move to spaces directly East, then he will fire on White 3 before moving two squares due South to be behind Kisasi.
Kaarys will need to succeed on a Handle Animal check to direct Serry, now that he's dismounted. The DC for that is 10, and because she's not an animal companion it would require him to expend a move action (animal companions can be handled as a free action).
If he does that, then he will have to choose whether to shoot at White #3 or move behind Kisasi, because he won't have enough actions left over to do both.
I'm fine not moving the horse. It was just to sort of get her out of the way, anyway. Knowing my roll, I'd like to say I don't fire my bow, but I think that's what Kaarys would of chose to do.
The cool thing about no facing is that if you're standing next to my horse you're always looking right at its booty.
White #7 vs. Swarbrick's horse
White #2 vs. Kisasi
White #1 vs. Kisasi
White #4 vs. Kisasi
Confirmation; grapple vs. #2; grapple vs. #4;
Constrict from #2; Ride check
Oh. Haha, lucky Kisasi. His AC is way higher than I thought, especially after the cover from the trees in some of his space. No grapple for #2, so no constrict.
Don't catch me with that bullshit, White #2.
Is there a way that Swarbrick can move into a flanking position on the one attacking his mount?
He could step south to flank with Kisasi, at least for so long as Kisasi is wielding a lance. I wouldn't be surprised if Kisasi switches to a sword sometime pretty soon, though.
It doesn't provoke AoO to move OUT OF difficult terrain, does it? Kisasi would like to poke White #7 then get his mount to take a 5' step east and execute a full attack action against it. If Swarbrick only has one attack per round maybe he wants to delay his whole turn or move then ready an action to attack after I do that?
EDIT: Actually I guess the horse would let him flank without Swarbrick needing to move at all.
Ok, let's try this again.
Horse's Hoof; hoof; bite, Swarbrick longsword with sneak attack d6
WTF dice roller, WTF?
Moving into our out of difficult terrain, on its own, doesn't provoke AoO. Difficult terrain in your destination square (or squares, if you're Large or Larger) does prevent a 5-foot step, however, because the cost to enter a square with difficult terrain in it is higher than normal.
Kisasi should be fine, in the scenario you've suggested, because he's moving into squares that do not impede movement at all. He can attack, make a 5 ft. adjustment, and then let his mount make a full attack. That's not a problem if he's moving east. He can't go north (Kaarys occupies a square he needs for that), but if he could, this also would allow a 5 ft. adjustment.
Currently (and this is a situation that will continue if he makes the described move) Kisasi and his horse have concealment versus ranged and reach attacks, regardless of where they come from, because checking for concealment vs. ranged attacks calls for me to find the most favorable corner of the attacker's square, and check versus all four corners/borders of the defender's square (as well as all intervening squares). He doesn't have concealment vs. melee attacks, because he's occupying a space that is not entirely composed of squares that grant concealment. If a Large or larger defender is not standing entirely in a space that grants concealment, the melee rules deny him concealment.
All this means I was making a boo-boo when I rolled for concealment versus his, just now. It doesn't matter in this case; his base AC is 19, and there are trees in his squares he occupies, so there's a +2 cover bonus on top of that. The natural 20 was the only thing that hit, any way I look at it. But I was processing those concealment rolls, just now, according to the ranged/reach procedure.
The horse is going to be withdrawing from battle anyway. It would be obedient to commands if you were still on its back, but you're not, and it's not your animal companion, so it's not like Swarbrick is really going to be handling it. It fought because it's a naturally aggressive creature, and it wasn't injured.
Then Swarbrick claims the first d20 as his attack roll!!
Alright, I guess I'll allow that on the basis that you didn't realize I was going to rule that Derpy Hooves was going to turn coward on you as soon as she got hurt badly.
Let's see what Henrik does, and then I'll update reflecting Swarbrick's action.
Other than the -4 to Dex, does this mucus affect tumble checks?
OK. I don't suspect Henrik's action will have much at all to do with my own so I will go ahead and roll. I'm applying the +2 from flanking and +1 for attacking from higher ground to my lance attack, so please adjust my final roll as necessary if that's inaccurate. Lance, move, horse full attack.
Oh, and I assume these things aren't sentient but maybe they are, and maybe they're EVIL. Let's find out with a smite!
I desire to succeed...
Ride check for Kisasi
Henrik's check is a success. He's got a move action left over; what'll he do with it?
I can't see the map from work, but I would like to move toward Karrys if I can do so without provoking any attacks of opportunity on the way.
Is it possible to delay while also begging someone to flank with the melee based rogue?
Use your move action to tumble down either one square southeast or 1SE, 1S, then ready your standard action to attack once I've moved.
Because after I lance White #7 my horse will be moving adjacent to it to execute a full attack, and I'm pretty sure I'll be flanking White #5 with you at that point because I'll still be holding the lance. It's just a little visually confusing for me because I currently take up a large space and am using a reach weapon. Can we get confirmation on whether I'll be threatening #5 after moving one square east; and if so, where Vandersrike will need to stand to be able to flank with me?
I'd prefer to get off a full attack. It hasn't come up yet, but Vandersrike has 4 attacks with a full attack action. We just haven't had reliable flanking to make that a thing. If it isn't tactically effective, I'm more than willing to tumble around and set up the flank for someone else. Just wanted to lay out my preferences there.
There's a house rule in effect regarding speech during combat:
"Speaking during combat is a free action on your character's turn, or an immediate action when it is not your character's turn. In either case, your character may speak up to 25 words. This is a departure from the Core rules, which originally made speaking during combat a free action which could occur without respect to your character's place in the initiative order. Immediate actions were added to Core rules via errata after the release of Expanded Psionics Handbook."
As long as you're within the scope of that rule, you can speak and then delay your action.