Chapter 1: Harvest (OOC)

2348 posts / 0 new
Last post
Talanall
Talanall's picture

Impressively bad.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

Cronono wrote:

I forget the 3.5 rule set, but I think it says that if you move out of a threatened square, for any reason, you still provoke, right? 5e changes that to voluntary movement from a threatened square to an unthreatened square.

On this subject, I have two questions, Talanall.

1: Did the slitherweb land on its feet, or was it more of a hard landing? More technically, is it currently suffering from the prone condition?

2: I'm honestly a little fuzzy on whether falling is considered movement or not. If it is, does that mean that Johten, Evrinel, Vanderstrike and Hob Gray 3 are entitled to AoO because it "moved" through their threatened squares?

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Fixxxer wrote:

On this subject, I have two questions, Talanall.

1: Did the slitherweb land on its feet, or was it more of a hard landing? More technically, is it currently suffering from the prone condition?

The rules are unsatisfyingly vague on how to resolve falls, other than in terms of the damage inflicted. On the basis that they don't explicitly SAY that people are prone after falling, I've opted in this case to let Kakaka and the slitherweb both land on their feet. The slitherweb did have a hard landing and it took damage. But it only fell 10 feet. If it had knees or ankles they would be hurting right now from the impact, I'm sure.

Kakaka only fell five feet, and he was feet-first anyway. So I just put him into his original square (because the actual landing square was occupied). He's still entangled, but is otherwise none the worse for his experiences so far.

Quote:

2: I'm honestly a little fuzzy on whether falling is considered movement or not. If it is, does that mean that Johten, Evrinel, Vanderstrike and Hob Gray 3 are entitled to AoO because it "moved" through their threatened squares?

It's right that you should be fuzzy, because the rules once again aren't very clear. I've ruled not, in the case of falling. I suppose that if we were looking at an instance where someone was falling from very high up, and was going to fall past you and continue falling afterward, I might allow you to ready an action to hit him as he passed. And I'd probably allow you to shoot at him with ranged weapons, within the limitations of the weapon's range increment. But in general, I will tend to treat falling as something different from proper movement, and even different from something like the outcome of a successful bull rush.

Things like a bull rush are different because they explicitly designate that the defender takes an AoO for the involuntary movement (with the proviso that there's a chance that the attack will go astray and hit you instead). Because there is such an explicit designation, I think there may be an implied "rule" hiding in here that suggests that involuntary movement doesn't ordinarily draw AoO. But there's no written rule, and if I felt like it suited the purposes of smoother, more reasonable play, I would not really feel badly about reversing myself on this.

I suspect that the difference that Cronono cites for 5e was motivated by a desire to make this mechanic clearer.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Cronono
Cronono's picture

It also closes what would be a rather painful loophole. The grapple and push rules in 5e are very fleshed out, allowing for very dynamic and movement heavy fights if the players/DM are so inclined. With the right build, you can build a strength based character who physically bullies antagonists around the board and thus set up/ruin attacks of opportunity for opponents.

If AoO provocation occurred on involuntary movement, the already nasty strength based 5e builds would become even scarier.

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Thank you for the insight.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

deadDMwalking
deadDMwalking's picture

Henrik mutters, "It may have been too long, but I'm not desperate enough for pussy to put my dick in there. This is better suited for the job." Hefting his axe, he swings right for the disgusting face.

Miss chance (high is good, low is bad); straight rolls, not counting flanking or anything (I can't see the map at work)
I rolled 1d100, the result is 20 = 20.
I rolled 1d20+3, the result is 5, 3 = 8.
I rolled 1d10+2, the result is 5, 2 = 7.
Talanall
Talanall's picture

Mbali vs. Slitherweb

I rolled 1d20+11, the result is 16, 11 = 27.
I rolled 1d8+4, the result is 8, 4 = 12.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 5 = 5.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Evrinel, flurry vs. Slitherweb

I rolled 1d20+3, the result is 10, 3 = 13.
I rolled 1d6+2, the result is 5, 2 = 7.
I rolled 1d20+3, the result is 7, 3 = 10.
I rolled 1d6+2, the result is 1, 2 = 3.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 24 = 24.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 72 = 72.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 61 = 61.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 1 = 1.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Per my earlier comment, Rasnak's stipulated arm-waving and shouting is a free action on his turn. Darker, do you want to specify any other activity, or was his attempt to help Kakaka last round enough to empty Rasnak's heroism budget for this week?

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Slitherweb:
Tentacle vs. Mbali (x2), Johten (x2), Evrinel (x2), Vandersrike (x2) and Leland (x1). Bite vs. Henrik.

I rolled 1d20+5, the result is 5, 5 = 10.
I rolled 1d3+3, the result is 2, 3 = 5.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 57 = 57.
I rolled 1d20+5, the result is 6, 5 = 11.
I rolled 1d3+3, the result is 2, 3 = 5.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 33 = 33.
I rolled 1d20+5, the result is 10, 5 = 15.
I rolled 1d3+3, the result is 3, 3 = 6.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 71 = 71.
I rolled 1d20+5, the result is 12, 5 = 17.
I rolled 1d3+3, the result is 3, 3 = 6.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 19 = 19.
I rolled 1d20+5, the result is 20, 5 = 25.
I rolled 1d3+3, the result is 1, 3 = 4.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 55 = 55.
I rolled 1d20+5, the result is 5, 5 = 10.
I rolled 1d3+3, the result is 3, 3 = 6.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 78 = 78.
I rolled 1d20+5, the result is 17, 5 = 22.
I rolled 1d3+3, the result is 2, 3 = 5.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 21 = 21.
I rolled 1d20+5, the result is 5, 5 = 10.
I rolled 1d3+3, the result is 1, 3 = 4.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 47 = 47.
I rolled 1d20+5, the result is 5, 5 = 10.
I rolled 1d3+3, the result is 3, 3 = 6.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 45 = 45.
I rolled 1d20+3, the result is 3, 3 = 6.
I rolled 1d6+1, the result is 5, 1 = 6.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 17 = 17.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Darker

Sorry, Rasnak was going to delay until he could do something useful or a good way to run away opened up. Since he still can't run, he'll want to heal if he can do so without getting AoO or putting himself in danger. Johten seems to have gotten the worse of it. Can he get to him and do it?

I rolled 1d8+2, the result is 8, 2 = 10.
Talanall
Talanall's picture

Rasnak is capable of getting to Johten, but since he can't see Johten or the slitherweb from where he's standing, it's questionable whether he knows that Johten is injured, much less how badly he's hurt.

He probably is aware that a couple of people got hit, since he can hear that there's fighting going on, but he doesn't have visual contact with anyone other than Vexandi, the mephits, and Hobs #3 and #4. He'd be able to see that #3 is still entangled.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Obsidian_Spoon
Obsidian_Spoon's picture

There's not a whole lot more Vex can do other than direct the mephits, so he's going to hold until something is stabbable from where he's at.

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Okay. Let's see how the mephits do with Vex's request, since we've established that they're cooperative, but not willing to stick their necks out.

I rolled 1d20+6, the result is 20, 6 = 26.
I rolled 1d20+6, the result is 2, 6 = 8.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Strength check, Mephit #2. Aid Another, Mephit #1

I rolled 1d20, the result is 16 = 16.
I rolled 1d20, the result is 5 = 5.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Darker

Then I suppose he'll just ready that action to heal the next person he knows is hurt. So, the next person he's aware of that is injured and he can touch without exposing himself to an attack, he'll do. Or do I need to be more specific? Or less?

Interesting question I also just read that I think I want Tal's take on because it blows my mind...

So let's say Rasnak wants to cast cure light wounds (hold the charge) and move to someone 50 feet away in combat to heal them. He cast it (standard action), the moves (move action) and on the next round, moves again (move action) and then uses a standard action to touch them, right?

But what if he gets hit between rounds and decides he'd rather have the cure. Does he still expend a standard action to cure himself if he's holding the charge? I would think so, but the rules don't seem to cover this (as he's not actually needing to touch anyone, attack or otherwise).

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Darker wrote:

Then I suppose he'll just ready that action to heal the next person he knows is hurt. So, the next person he's aware of that is injured and he can touch without exposing himself to an attack, he'll do. Or do I need to be more specific? Or less?

Interesting question I also just read that I think I want Tal's take on because it blows my mind...

This will be fine.

Quote:

So let's say Rasnak wants to cast cure light wounds (hold the charge) and move to someone 50 feet away in combat to heal them. He cast it (standard action), the moves (move action) and on the next round, moves again (move action) and then uses a standard action to touch them, right?

But what if he gets hit between rounds and decides he'd rather have the cure. Does he still expend a standard action to cure himself if he's holding the charge? I would think so, but the rules don't seem to cover this (as he's not actually needing to touch anyone, attack or otherwise).

He expends the standard action because he's touching himself.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

deadDMwalking
deadDMwalking's picture

If there were a feat that let one touch oneself as a free action, Henrik would be interested in that.

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Why would he want to hurry?

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

deadDMwalking
deadDMwalking's picture

Free, not swift. There's no official limit to the number if times in a round. Touch, move, touch, standard, touch. Combats would be a lot more interesting.

Darker

As a swift action, he could touch himself while someone else was doing it too.

Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

Apparently reaching something of a breaking point, Johten bellows "THAT...IS...IT!", steps forward (5ft step) and attempts to grab the disgusting thing with his bare hands and squeeze it like an oversized zit. It's out of character for him, but he seems pissed off enough that he doesn't seem to mind touching the icky thing.

Talanall, I noticed a mistake on Johten's sheet. His grapple check should be 1 higher than originally indicated. I suspect I failed to update it when he hit level 2. This is reflected in the roll below.

Melee touch attack; opposed grapple check; unarmed damage
I rolled 1d20+6, the result is 20, 6 = 26.
I rolled 1d20+10, the result is 4, 10 = 14.
I rolled 1d3+4, the result is 3, 4 = 7.
Talanall
Talanall's picture

Opposed check

I rolled 1d20+4, the result is 17, 4 = 21.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

Oh, that little motherfucker...

Dafyd
Dafyd's picture

If I can do it in a single move, I'd like to flank the critter with M'bali and attack again.

I rolled 1d20+3, the result is 12, 3 = 15.
I rolled 1d6, the result is 3 = 3.
Cronono
Cronono's picture

Vandersrike, unhappy at the fruits of his relative heroism, engages in tactical retrograde movement.

He will withdraw behind Uluwasi.

deadDMwalking
deadDMwalking's picture

Henrik passes through Evrinel's space moving toward the sound of Johten's cursing. Standing just directly behind Mbali he finds his query. Reaching out he summons the power of the Stone Lords to provide comfort to the wounded and dying and places his warmly glowing hand on Johten's shoulder.

(converting Comprehend Languages)

Cure Light Wounds
I rolled 1d8+1, the result is 6, 1 = 7.
Talanall
Talanall's picture

Nice. Also, Henrik's at 2nd level, so he healed 8 points.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Mbali, Attack.

I rolled 1d20+9, the result is 14, 9 = 23.
I rolled 1d8+6, the result is 4, 6 = 10.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 27 = 27.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Hob #2 vs. Slitherweb

I rolled 1d20+2, the result is 1, 2 = 3.
I rolled 1d8+1, the result is 7, 1 = 8.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 55 = 55.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Hob #3, Strength vs. entangle

I rolled 1d20+1, the result is 18, 1 = 19.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

AoO, Leland vs. Slitherweb

I rolled 1d20+1, the result is 6, 1 = 7.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 26 = 26.
I rolled 1d6, the result is 6 = 6.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Obsidian_Spoon
Obsidian_Spoon's picture

Vex is repeating his action from last round.

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Okay, and we know the mephits are probably busy getting #2 unstuck from that web.

What's Rasnak doing?

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Darker

Readying the previous action still.

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Righto. And Johten?

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

Retrieving his dropped halberd and swearing at the slitherweb like a dock worker.

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Mephits, Str. vs. webbing and Aid Another

I rolled 1d20, the result is 9 = 9.
I rolled 1d20, the result is 18 = 18.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Dafyd
Dafyd's picture

Leland will call Raksha to his side and say quietly, "M'bali, Raksha and I are stepping toward you now. Please don't mistake us for that...thing."

Cronono
Cronono's picture

Vandersrike hides while trying to keep his guts on his inside.

Maybe he can hide behind all the blood in the air.
I rolled 1d20+17, the result is 16, 17 = 33.
Talanall
Talanall's picture

Nice roll. The fog's thick enough to hide in anyway.

What about Henrik?

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

deadDMwalking
deadDMwalking's picture

Delay until after someone gets attacked.

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Rolls

I rolled 1d20+9, the result is 6, 9 = 15.
I rolled 1d8+4, the result is 2, 4 = 6.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 2 = 2.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Rolls

I rolled 1d20+3, the result is 19, 3 = 22.
I rolled 1d6+2, the result is 4, 2 = 6.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 49 = 49.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 51 = 51.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Rolls

I rolled 1d20+2, the result is 8, 2 = 10.
I rolled 1d8+1, the result is 4, 1 = 5.
I rolled 1d100, the result is 24 = 24.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Initiative ended. You can post freely to the IC thread once again.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Thus ends Chapter 1: Harvest. The game continues in Chapter 2: How Do they Rise Up?

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Pages