Azathoth - The Chatter

559 posts / 0 new
Last post
Aladdar
Aladdar's picture

ok, move my will up to 4 and my luck up to 2. I'll stay where I am and hope one of those monsters moves on.

Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

@Board Rider, Dexter's up. Let's get them rolls, yo.

Aladdar
Aladdar's picture

I think he tried to evade and failed. I think he's in the hospital as a result, right?

https://www.dndarchive.com/comment/35635#comment-35635

Board Rider
Board Rider's picture

Yeah....triple 1's.

Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

Oh yes, I remember that now. My bad.

Just for the sake of completeness, you've got three options at this point.

1: Spend a Clue token to roll another d6. This can be done over and over again, so long as you have Clues to spend.

2: Accept your ass beating. Go to St. Mary's Hospital. Lose half your Clues (rounded down). Lose half your items (spells, common items & unique items). Lose any retainers you have (you currently have none). Regain 1 stamina. Have no further actions this turn.

3: Accept your ass beating. Go to St. Mary's Hospital. Draw a card from the Injury deck. Lose no items or Clues. Regain full stamina. Have no further actions this turn.

Board Rider
Board Rider's picture

I'll try using two clues. If I fail I'll take option 3. Roll 1.

I rolled 1d6, the result is 3 = 3.
Board Rider
Board Rider's picture

Roll 2.

I rolled 1d6, the result is 5 = 5.
Board Rider
Board Rider's picture

That should do it?

Board Rider
Board Rider's picture

If it does then I should be at 5 clues if I get to HS.

Aladdar
Aladdar's picture

Yep, good work.

Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

Board Rider wrote:

I'll try using two clues. If I fail I'll take option 3. Roll 1.

Just as a teaching moment so everyone knows, adding extra dice through the use of Clue tokens can be done over and over, so unless there's a specific need to add multiple dice, you can always spend 1 Clue token, roll the dice and decide whether to spend another Clue token or not. I bring this up just to head off the possibility that someone might feel gyped by spending multiple Clue tokens to roll and getting a success on the first one they roll.

MinusInnocence
MinusInnocence's picture

The only caveat I would add to that is that if someone has a skill or something similar that allows you to reroll a skill check, however many Clues you spend before deciding to use that skill would determine your total pool of dice for the reroll. So if you normally have 3 dice, fail, use Clues one at a time until you have used 4, then want to reroll, technically you're rerolling all 7 dice now, correct?

Aladdar
Aladdar's picture

I don't think so. I think clues are separate additions to a skill check. Re-rolling a skill check is simply re-rolling a skill check, you could choose to add clues to it again.

I could be wrong.

Of course you could have "Mania" like me. I now have to spend clues in groups of 2. I did want to ask how that affects closing a gate. Does that affect only take place when I add clue tokens, or does it also affect things like closing a gate which would then make it take 6 clues? I'm assuming only the former.

Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

Alright, then. @Aladdar, please choose which of the two encounter cards Darrell will be doing. Since I can't see either of those cards having an impact on Dexter's choices, we'll do Dexter's encounter as well.

@Board Rider, the wording of this encounter is a tiny bit tricky, so here's the breakdown. You've got two choices here.

1: Because of the word "may" in the description, you can choose to do nothing. You make no skill check, act normally next round and get no benefit or loss from this encounter.

2: You can choose to sit through the lecture. You'll stay at Historical Society during the next round's Movement phase. You make a Lore (-1) check now, hoping for 2 successes. If you fail, nothing bad happens. If you pass, you draw a skill from the Skill deck.

MinusInnocence
MinusInnocence's picture

I learned some of the basic rules for this game ass-backwards, as has been addressed previously. So I wanted to make sure I wasn't making this up, too, but I found a reference in the FAQ attached to the end of the rulebook for the Dunwich Horror expansion, and it really reads like more of a clarification about how the rules in the original game work than an amendment to them. But if we could get a ruling from @Fixxxer, that would be helpful.

Dunwich Horror FAQ wrote:
Q: How does a re-roll work? Can you re-roll only the skill dice that you have before spending Clue tokens, or can you re-roll all the dice you’ve rolled on a given check, including the extra dice gained from spending Clue tokens?

A: You re-roll all the dice you’ve rolled for the skill check so far, so you can re-roll dice gained from spending Clue tokens as long as you spend your Clue tokens before using your re-roll.

Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

This applies to an actual re-rolling of dice, which is something that hasn't come up in our game. There are Investigator abilities, skills and item special benefits that will occasionally let you reroll a check. What this FAQ entry is attempting to clarify is that if you use such an ability after having spent Clue tokens to add dice to said roll, you also reroll the extra dice you gained from the Clue tokens.

Example:
Sister Mary enters combat against The Dunwich Horror, because she's suddenly developed a suicidal streak. Because of her Fight slider position and the weapons she's using, she gets to roll 9 dice, but needs 5 successes. She's using the D&D Archive Bitchass Spiteful Die Roller From Hell™, so she rolls 4 successes. She decides she's feeling lucky and spends a Clue token to add a die. Failure. She spends another Clue and fails again. Then she remembers that she has a special skill that allows her to reroll a failed combat. She utilizes that, which lets her reroll her original 9 dice plus the 2 dice she gained from spending Clues for a total of 11 dice.

Aladdar
Aladdar's picture

Ah, ok. That's an interesting clarification. It's certainly not covered in the original rules. Good to know. I'll make a mental note of that.

Aladdar
Aladdar's picture

Also Darrell is up for some dream enhancers. Bottoms up.

I rolled 1d6, the result is 2 = 2.
Board Rider
Board Rider's picture

I think option 2 would help but now that he has five clues isn't there a place Dexter could move to and try to close and seal a gate?

Aladdar
Aladdar's picture

You might want to go by the hospital and heal up a round before trying to jump through a gate.

MinusInnocence
MinusInnocence's picture

Were here for a good time, not a long time.

Board Rider
Board Rider's picture

What are the blue marks? Are there closed portals that can just be sealed?

Aladdar
Aladdar's picture

The blue marks are where we've already sealed gates.

The only way for you to seal one is to enter o e, have at least one encounter, cast find gate, then encounter the gate and close it.

Board Rider
Board Rider's picture

Thanks Aladdar. Dexter will try to learn from the professor and hang tight

Lore
I rolled 3d6, the result is 2, 4, 2 = 8.
Board Rider
Board Rider's picture

Oh well.

Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

Michael McGlen Horror check.

Horror
I rolled 1d6, the result is 3 = 3.
Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

Michael McGlen Combat vs Mi-go.

Fight 5 + tommy gun (+6)
I rolled 11d6, the result is 5, 4, 2, 1, 6, 1, 2, 6, 4, 3, 1 = 35.
Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

We have a new environment. On the plus side, the difficulty to close that gate to R'lyeh is no longer jacked up. On the down side, spells can't be cast until we get a new environment.

The Terror Level went up again. We were at full capacity in both Arkham and Outskirts before the Mythos caused a monster surge. The Outskirts cleared and filled mostly up again. We've got one vacancy left in Outskirts before the Terror Level increases again.

Michael McGlen's doing well, at least. He got a cool new knife.

We're going back into Upkeep. First player token is going to move from Michael McGlen to Sister Mary. Sister Mary and Dexter Drake are stuck where they're at this turn. Let's get slider changes from everyone and rolls for blessings from @MinusInnocence and @Board Rider and let's get a Movement phase action from @Aladdar. Michael McGlen is going to spend all his Focus to un-exhaust his Mental Fortitude skill this Upkeep.

Michael McGlen blessing
I rolled 1d6, the result is 3 = 3.
MinusInnocence
MinusInnocence's picture

I'm fuming.

Upkeep vs Blessing
I rolled 1d6, the result is 3 = 3.
Aladdar
Aladdar's picture

Darrel is going to go insane while sitting inside Arkham asylum and become suicidal.

Move my fight up to 5.

He barrels outside and straight into the Moon-Beast (Fail the will check and lose 2 sanity). He hefts his axe above his head and screaming, attempts to slam it down upon the Moon-beasts neck.

I rolled 6d6, the result is 2, 5, 3, 6, 5, 4 = 25.
Aladdar
Aladdar's picture

Hey, what do you know, he manages to disembowel the Moon-beast.

He then turns and sees the fearsome vampire. Realizing he has no chance against him, he attempts to sneak by while it's distracted with the death of the Moon-Beast. He consults his cryptozoology collection to see if there's any tips for doing so and tries to move past slowly.

I rolled 1d6, the result is 1 = 1.
Aladdar
Aladdar's picture

And he trips over his own two feet, landing directly beneath the jaws of the vampire. He is once again driven insane, and two orderlies run outside, grab him as he babbles something indecipherable and pulls him inside.

Give me another insanity card if that's an option. I'm not certain if I'm allowed to have more than one.

MinusInnocence
MinusInnocence's picture

You can have as many cards as you're willing to draw, but if you ever draw two of the same one you're devoured. However, I think the first thing that happens after failing an Evade check is taking Stamina damage, not Sanity damage. So at least this time, you're probably drawing an Injury card instead.

Aladdar
Aladdar's picture

ah, you're right. I completely forgot you take injury first. That's actually better I think because at least it gets me away from that vampire. So I'm knocked to 0 on stamina. I'll be left with 2 sanity, a new injury card, but my stamina refilled.

Board Rider
Board Rider's picture

Blessing? No changes to sliders.

I rolled 1d6, the result is 3 = 3.
Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

MinusInnocence wrote:

You can have as many cards as you're willing to draw, but if you ever draw two of the same one you're devoured. However, I think the first thing that happens after failing an Evade check is taking Stamina damage, not Sanity damage. So at least this time, you're probably drawing an Injury card instead.

Correct on all counts. In addition to duplicate cards resulting in being devoured, each Madness card is paired with an Injury card (noted on the cards). If you gain the corresponding card, you are devoured. For example, Darrell already has the Mania madness. If he draws another Mania card, he's devoured. Also, since Mania is paired with the Seizures injury, if Darrell draws Seizures, he'll be devoured.

After gaining 2 Madness/Injury cards, a player may choose to retire that Investigator. There's an Investigator we're not playing with, Rita Young the Athlete, whose special ability is that she isn't devoured by duplicate cards. I've seen her gimp along with 6 injuries and wave the stump of her crippled appendages at Nyarlathotep in defiance.

Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

Historical Society - A white-haired professor offers to help you if you can prove the legitimacy of your mission. You may spend a gate trophy to take Professor Armitage's Ally card, or, if it's not available, draw 1 unique item.

@Board Rider, does Dexter feel like spending a gate trophy?

Went ahead and moved through Other World Encounters. We'll go into Mythos and Upkeep again once we have Board Rider's choice.

Board Rider
Board Rider's picture

Sure...I'll take an ally card. Unless Aladdar or MI say I shouldn't. Honestly, I don't think Dexter needs the trophies at this point, right? Wrong?

Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

You're certainly better with an ally than with all those gate trophies. And good news, Professor Armitage's card is in the deck!

We'll move into Mythos momentarily.

Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

Funny enough, the Shoggoth was the only monster that moved during the Mythos phase. And where did it move to? The Northside streets, where the Mythos card then dictated any monsters in the Northside district get returned to the cup. A tiny spot of luck on our side.

We're back to Upkeep. Darrell Simmons will become first player this round. Let's get rolls for blessings from @Board Rider and @MinusInnocence and slider changes from everyone. Also, let's get Movement actions from @Aladdar and Board Rider.

Michael McGlen will be moving his Fight slider up to 6. As he returns to Arkham this round, he'll get to engage the gate during Arkham Encounters. If he rolls well enough to close it, he'll spend the Clue tokens to seal it and we'll win the game.

Blessing?
I rolled 1d6, the result is 1 = 1.
Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

He would, of course, lose his blessing on the turn before he needs to make that crucial roll.

Board Rider
Board Rider's picture

Okay. I'll take an ally.

Also, I rolled a 3 for blessing above. Isnt that a fail?

Aladdar
Aladdar's picture

No, you only lose blessing on a roll of 1.

Aladdar
Aladdar's picture

Slide my fight over 2 sliders.

I'll move to the church and trade in monster points to bless Michael McGlenn.

MinusInnocence
MinusInnocence's picture

Darrell just saved Mary's bacon with that Injury card. If she had drawn another Hearing Loss, she'd be devoured right now (the 20s were unkind to people with disabilities so deafness is basically the same as deadness).

Let's see if she keeps her Blessing before the gangster takes us home.

Upkeep vs Blessing
I rolled 1d6, the result is 5 = 5.
Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

Unless I'm mistaken, we're still looking for a blessing roll from @Board Rider. The last one I see looks like it was made for the last Upkeep phase.

Board Rider
Board Rider's picture

Blessing.

I rolled 1d6, the result is 4 = 4.
Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

Cool, blessing retained. What will Dexter be doing during Movement?

Board Rider
Board Rider's picture

Go to the hospital an get a point of stamina. Unless it's possible to have two allies at one time. Then how about the Boarding House?

Aladdar
Aladdar's picture

You can have as many allies as you can acquire.

Pages