Symphony #9

Antonin Dvorak - Symphony #9


altArtist: Antonin Dvorak

Rating: 10 out of 10

Commonly referred to as “New World Symphony,” this powerful piece of music is, in my mind, what symphony music should sound like. According to the composer, it was written partly as a tribute to Native American music and Negro spirituals, and indeed, there are elements of the piece to support this. However, the style is as much Bohemian (Dvorak’s homeland) as anything else.

The piece begins with soft flute music and then surprises the listener with a sudden shift to loud horns that blast a powerful melody. This sudden change occurs several times throughout. In my mind, this is exactly the sort of music I would use in the background while introducing a new, powerful villain to a group of players. The horns are ominous and carry a feeling of power, while the occasional break to softer flute music allows the powerful point to made again and again. As far as I’m concerned, this is as good as music gets for D&D.


1: Adagio - Allegro molto
2: Largo
3: Scherzo: Molto Vivace - Poco sostenuto
4: Allegro con fuoco