Chapter 1: Harvest (OOC)

2348 posts / 0 new
Last post
Talanall
Talanall's picture

Wow, Xolani is Fort saving like a boss. Not that it's going to help him much if he keeps getting chewed on.

Vexandi is up.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Obsidian_Spoon
Obsidian_Spoon's picture

Vex is going to move to the square directly northeast of Johten and begin a spirit pact. Can I take 10 on the roll and still be able to reach enough HD to get a medium earth elemental? Here's my pact strength check, too.

Pact strength check
I rolled 2d6+5, the result is 3, 6, 5 = 14.
Talanall
Talanall's picture

Yes, but keep in mind that Vexandi won't be able to dominate it. He'd have to spend some time negotiating with it, and (in a strange twist) this fight actually poses some risk of injury to an earth elemental. It can't be poisoned, but it can still take injury from being bitten.

Amusingly enough, the magmin and sprites he has been using so extensively are subject to no such constraint. The centipedes are literally incapable of dealing more than 2 points of damage, and those spirits have DR 10/magic and 10/cold iron. Earth elementals don't start to develop DR until they hit Large, which is unfortunately still a little beyond Vexandi's grasp unless he rolls exceptionally well. Theoretically, he could get one to answer him. But not by taking 10.

Consider the list below, with the caveat that this is not a full list of the spirits in the area. Vexandi has to roll high enough to see what's out there. If something has DR or is noted "as if dominated," it'll fight on his behalf against these centipedes without qualms.

Currently available (Vexandi either can reach these by taking 10, or has already used them):
Pixie, nixie, or grig, 3 HD (one of each kind, as if charmed, plus 10/cold iron (pixie) or 5/cold iron)
Pixie, nixie, or grig, 1 HD (as if dominated, otherwise as above)

Air elemental, Small (four, as if charmed)
Earth elemental, Medium (four, as if charmed)
Earth elemental, Small (eight, as if dominated)
Magmin, 3 HD (one, as if charmed, DR 10/magic)
Magmin, 2 HD (two, as if dominated)
Water elemental, Medium (four, as if charmed)
Water elemental, Small (eight, as if charmed)

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Obsidian_Spoon
Obsidian_Spoon's picture

I originally was going to have him call two small earth elementals for extra flanking opportunities, but then saw the mediums have Cleave. But, "as if dominated" is more expedient. Are there more than one 1HD Pixie or Grig? If not, could he call both the single pixie and grig?

Talanall
Talanall's picture

There are two of each. He's 2nd level and these aren't elementals, so he can have up to four HD of spirits in total. That means he could call up to two 1-HD pixies and two 1-HD grigs, which would all be treated as if dominated. And practically speaking, they'd all be immune to the centipedes' bites because of the DR.

I'll need an actual pact check for this (because, again, they aren't elementals). A result of 7 or greater gets you all four sprites.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Obsidian_Spoon
Obsidian_Spoon's picture

Roger that. Sounds good.

Pact check.
I rolled 1d20+3, the result is 18, 3 = 21.
Talanall
Talanall's picture

Well, that's a fine how-do-you-do.

That was a damn fine roll, so Vexandi has some additional choices at his disposal. New options are in italics.

Currently available:
Pixie, nixie, or grig, 3 HD (one of each kind, as if charmed, plus 10/cold iron (pixie) or 5/cold iron)
Pixie, nixie, or grig, 1 HD (two of each kind, as if dominated, otherwise as above)

Air elemental, Medium (two, as if charmed)
Air elemental, Small (four, as if charmed)
Earth elemental, Medium (four, as if charmed)
Earth elemental, Small (eight, as if dominated)
Magmin, 6 HD (one, as if charmed, DR 10/magic)
Magmin, 3 HD (one, as if charmed)
Magmin, 2 HD (two, as if dominated)
Water elemental, Medium (four, as if charmed)
Water elemental, Small (eight, as if charmed)

Air, Earth, Ooze and Water Mephits, 4 HD (two each, as if charmed, with DR 5/magic)
Tojanida, Adult (two, as if charmed)
Tojanida, Juvenile (four, as if charmed)
Xorn, Average (two, as if charmed)
Xorn, Minor (four, as if charmed)

Dretch (one, as if charmed, DR 5/good or cold iron; can summon other dretches)
Formian Worker, 2 HD (one, as if charmed)
Formian Worker, 1 HD (two, as if dominated)
Hell Hound, 6 HD (two, as if charmed)
Imp (two, as if charmed, DR/good or silver
Lemure (one, as if charmed, DR/good or silver but mindless and uncontrollable at current level)
Quasit (two, as if charmed, DR good or cold iron)

While @Obsidian_Spoon is thinking about what he wants to summon in light of this new information, let's see about getting @Arkenian and @Dafyd to tee up actions for Evrinel and Leland, since Vexandi's action is not going to bear fruit until his next turn comes up.

My apologies to all for the sluggishness of play lately; I have been feeling under the weather.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Obsidian_Spoon
Obsidian_Spoon's picture

Since mephits are elemental, I could summon two 4HD earth mephits?

Talanall
Talanall's picture

They have an element subtype, yes. Vex couldn't get them by taking 10 on his pact check because they are outsiders, but in terms of his effective shaman level, he is 4th level with respect to how they react to him, how many he can call, and so on.

Elementals are generally more numerous than outsiders (which you can see in the listing I have provided), and for a variety of reasons it's likely that Vex will tend to want quantity more than quality when he's calling them later in the game, such as a case where he's using multiple water elementals to tow or push a boat. That'd be entirely viable for him to do right now if he had a boat, as a matter of fact, and four Small ones would actually be capable of contributing to the movement of a heavier load than a single Large water elemental.

Or he'll want to call on the same elemental(s) over and over again for a specific task, like he's doing with the magmin in the orchard. And later, he might want to use an invisible stalker, which is also an elemental, as a scout or something like that. Even if he's capable of calling the huge 24-HD version of an invisible stalker, he probably won't bother if all he wants is for it to fly around and spy on people.

The ability to take 10 is intended to support these sorts of tasks, where there is no real reason for him to call the most powerful spirit he possibly can. If he's calling allies for combat, taking 10 isn't going to net him his most powerful options, but there are feats that reward him for calling a slew of weak elementals instead.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

And yes, Vex could summon two of them. He'll probably lose a round or so, once they arrive, to telling them what he wants and making his opposed Diplomacy check. And it's possible that he'll lose the check; they actually have Diplomacy, too.

But honestly, this isn't a terrible time and place for Vex to experiment with new spirits. These centipedes are a nuisance, but I don't really expect anyone to die in this fight unless the dice roller experiences some kind of demonic possession and spews nothing but natural 1 for the whole thing.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Obsidian_Spoon
Obsidian_Spoon's picture

Yeah, I figure he'd be interested in calling the mephits because he hasn't before, and he's underground, and they're immune to the centipedes attacks, and so on.

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Okay, then.

@Dafyd and @Arkenian, what are your characters doing?

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Obsidian_Spoon
Obsidian_Spoon's picture

That brings a question to mind, though. You can give me a list of spirits in the area, and I can go and look their stats up in the SRD, but would Vex really know things like the mephits are immune to the centipede attacks? He's never summoned them before. Would he know they can spray stone and gravel at their enemies? Or that formians can heal? I don't imagine Vex has encyclopedic knowledge of all the spirits out there.

Talanall
Talanall's picture

I am using DM fiat a little bit here to say what he does and does not know. You're right that Vex wouldn't necessarily know every little detail about the spirits he can call upon. On the other hand, let's consider the summon monster spell chain.

That spell brings in all sorts of monsters. You don't have to have any ranks whatsoever in Knowledge (planes) to use it, and by the rules as written, it's not at all clear whether a character without that skill would REALLY know all about the properties of the creatures he summons with that spell. But we all kind of gloss over that issue in the interests of allowing the game to play smoothly.

As the game proceeds into higher levels, I think you may find me a little harder-nosed about this sort of thing, but overall I see little reason to be obnoxious about it. The way I look at it, DR/whatever is a fundamental property of most monsters. If Vexandi knows nothing else about a creature he calls using his pact ability, I generally assume that he'll at least know that it is undead/fey/elemental/outsider, what element or alignment subtypes it has (if any), and what kind of DR it has.

Where Vexandi will run into uncertainty is over the other stuff, like the mephit's breath weapon or its spell-like abilities. Or (for a higher-level example) he might call a 10-HD djinn and discover that he has managed to piss off a djinni noble, which is the variety that grants wishes.

Very often with something like this, I will make a hidden Knowledge roll in an applicable skill, without telling you anything about it. And then depending on the result, you might get a hint that calling that particular spirit might be a bad idea, or that a given spirit has a special ability that would prove useful in a given circumstance.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Dafyd
Dafyd's picture

Leland will scoot up to as close as he can behind Hobs #2 and #6.

Talanall
Talanall's picture

@Arkenian, what is Evrinel doing?

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Obsidian_Spoon
Obsidian_Spoon's picture

Ah, sounds good to me.

Arkenian
Arkenian's picture

Evrinel loads his sling. and I guess I might as well shoot black 1

Attack;Damage
I rolled 1d20+3, the result is 20, 3 = 23.
I rolled 1d4+2, the result is 3, 2 = 5.
Arkenian
Arkenian's picture

Well that was unexpected.

Confirm;Damage
I rolled 1d20+3, the result is 18, 3 = 21.
I rolled 1d4+2, the result is 2, 2 = 4.
Arkenian
Arkenian's picture

Wow. Maybe vow of peace isn't the right track for Evrinel after all, apparently I CAN hit things.

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Mbali's action

Edit: vs. Gray-6, not Gray-1

Mbali vs. Gray-1, atk/dmg
I rolled 1d20+9, the result is 17, 9 = 26.
I rolled 1d8+4, the result is 5, 4 = 9.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Hobs, part 1.

Hob #3 vs. Gray-5;Hob #5 vs. Gray-2;
I rolled 1d20+2, the result is 20, 2 = 22.
I rolled 1d8+1, the result is 6, 1 = 7.
I rolled 1d20+2, the result is 3, 2 = 5.
I rolled 1d8+1, the result is 7, 1 = 8.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Confirmation

I rolled 1d20+2, the result is 2, 2 = 4.
I rolled 1d8+1, the result is 4, 1 = 5.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Hobs, part 2

Hob #6 vs. Gray-2
I rolled 1d20+2, the result is 9, 2 = 11.
I rolled 1d8+1, the result is 4, 1 = 5.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Hobs, part 3: ranged

I rolled 1d20+2, the result is 14, 2 = 16.
I rolled 1d6+1, the result is 3, 1 = 4.
I rolled 1d20+2, the result is 1, 2 = 3.
I rolled 1d6+1, the result is 2, 1 = 3.
I rolled 1d20+2, the result is 7, 2 = 9.
I rolled 1d6+1, the result is 3, 1 = 4.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Johten's up.

As a friendly reminder to all of you, all of the black tokens are Tiny centipedes. The gray ones are Small.

It's been awhile since the last time you fought anything that was Tiny or smaller, so I'll also remind you guys that creatures smaller than Small do not threaten squares (which means they normally don't make AoOs when you just move past them, as a side note). They have to move into their target's square to attack, and (unlike the normal rules) can inhabit a Small or larger creature's space.

Doing so draws AoO for them, which is nice for the hobs, but there are more Tiny centipedes here than the hobs in the front line can possibly stab to death in time. If you are in melee reach of a square that is inhabited by both a hob and a Tiny centipede, you can attack the centipede. As far as I can tell, they don't receive any cover bonuses to AC in that case.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Cronono
Cronono's picture

Vandersrike is looking for signs of burrowing creatures in the ground/wall. How would you like to resolve that?

Darker

Is Xolani where Rasnak might get to him and cure him without risking himself?

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Cronono wrote:

Vandersrike is looking for signs of burrowing creatures in the ground/wall. How would you like to resolve that?

The walls are solid limestone, and Vandersrike has darkvision. So I doubt that he'll have any trouble seeing that there's little possibility of being outflanked that way.

Centipedes have a climb speed, but thus far it doesn't look as if they are bothering about that sort of thing. One of the benefits of a mindless foe, I guess.

Darker wrote:
Is Xolani where Rasnak might get to him and cure him without risking himself?

Xolani is White #4. He's well inside the defensive cordon at this point, so yeah. Rasnak won't run into trouble unless these centipedes suddenly develop the ability to teleport, or something. 25% of them died just now, so it looks like they are the regular garden variety.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Let's see what Johten does.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

@Fixxxer, it's Joe's turn. What's he doing?

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Fixxxer
Fixxxer's picture

Joe's gonna move up between Hobs #1 and #5, just to be another brick in the wall. Centipedes are icky, but they're not likely to have him heaving out his guts because of how rancid they smell, so they're a much more engagable opponent than he's had recently.

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Okay. And Rasnak is moving over to Xolani (White #4) to see about treating his injuries. And Vandersrike is checking the wall to make sure that it's still stone?

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Cronono
Cronono's picture

Are the walls to the west (over by 9) stone as well? If not, Vandersrike will move over there and look for signs they are being disturbed. If they are stone, then he will set about taking a torch or other at hand illumination and helping his monkey eye'd clan mantes being able to see over there in the eventuality of a flanking maneuver.

Darker

That is correct for Rasnak.

deadDMwalking
deadDMwalking's picture

Henrik casts CMW by swapping out a purify food and drink on Hobgoblin #4.

Obsidian_Spoon
Obsidian_Spoon's picture

In all our back and forth about the spirits, I think you missed my movement on that round. I was moving to the square that is one to the left of the #7 on the map, so when my next turn comes about and I complete the summons, I can place them into the battle.

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Okay, that's not a problem. Please be aware that by moving that far, Vex is making it so that he will only have a move action available to him on his next turn because he will be dividing his full-round action into two standard actions.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Centipedes, Gray 1-3

1 vs. Hob #5, 2 vs. Hob #5, 3 vs. Hob #6
I rolled 1d20+3, the result is 1, 3 = 4.
I rolled 1d4-3, the result is 4, -3 = 1.
I rolled 1d20+3, the result is 5, 3 = 8.
I rolled 1d4-3, the result is 1, -3 = -2.
I rolled 1d20+3, the result is 1, 3 = 4.
I rolled 1d4-3, the result is 4, -3 = 1.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

AoO, Hob #5 vs. Black #2

I rolled 1d20+2, the result is 11, 2 = 13.
I rolled 1d8+1, the result is 8, 1 = 9.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

AoO, Hob #6 vs. Black #2

I rolled 1d20+2, the result is 10, 2 = 12.
I rolled 1d8+1, the result is 1, 1 = 2.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Black #2 vs. Hob #5

I rolled 1d20+4, the result is 10, 4 = 14.
I rolled 1d3-5, the result is 1, -5 = -4.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Okay, let's have a Diplomacy check from Vexandi, as well as any talking he plans to do to convince these guys to make his problems their own.

I rolled 1d20+4, the result is 6, 4 = 10.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Obsidian_Spoon
Obsidian_Spoon's picture

Do I need to make the diplo check? In your list back when we were discussing, it said the mephits would act as if charmed.

As for what I want to tell them, in terran I'll great them briefly and gesture to the centipedes, asking them to aid us in disposing of the vermin while avoiding causing any harm to any of the non-centipedes.

Just in case I do in fact need the diplo check, here that is, too.

Diplomacy
I rolled 1d20+8, the result is 2, 8 = 10.
Talanall
Talanall's picture

Yes, you do have to make a Diplo check. If you browse the spell description for charm person, you can see that the spell actually calls for an opposed Charisma check. The mechanics behind the pact are a little more forgiving, and allow you to make a Diplomacy check instead.

Your result and the mephits' was a tie. In opposed checks, ties are broken in favor of the person with the higher modifier, so Vexandi wins.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Obsidian_Spoon
Obsidian_Spoon's picture

Oh wait, I knew that. For whatever reason I was reading "as if charmed" but thinking "as if dominated". My bad.

Arkenian
Arkenian's picture

Evrinel loads his sling and shoots gray 4

Attack;Damage
I rolled 1d20+3, the result is 14, 3 = 17.
I rolled 1d4+2, the result is 1, 2 = 3.
Dafyd
Dafyd's picture

Leland takes a defensive stance and waits to heal any of the hobs clumped together, should they be nibbled upon.

Talanall
Talanall's picture

Breath, Mephit 1

I rolled 1d8, the result is 8 = 8.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Talanall
Talanall's picture

I don't suppose saves are going to matter. Even at half damage from a save, that puts down every centipede it touches.

I rolled 1d20+2, the result is 15, 2 = 17.
I rolled 1d20+2, the result is 3, 2 = 5.
I rolled 1d20+2, the result is 4, 2 = 6.
I rolled 1d20+2, the result is 2, 2 = 4.

Wæs se grimma gæst Grendel haten,
mære mearcstapa, se þe moras heold

Pages